Story Info

Title: Chitauri Apocalypse

Author: Del Rion

Fandom: The Avengers (MCU)

Era: Post-Avengers movie

Genre: Action, drama

Rating: M / FRM

Characters: Bruce Banner (Hulk), Clint Barton (Hawkeye), Jane Foster, Nick Fury, Happy Hogan, J.A.R.V.I.S., Loki, Pepper Potts, James "Rhodey" Rhodes (War Machine), Steve Rogers (Captain America), Natasha Romanoff (Black Widow), Lady Sif and the Warriors Three (Fandral, Hogun and Volstagg), Tony Stark (Iron Man), Thor
(Brief/smaller appearances: Odin, Maria Hill, Darcy Lewis, The Other, Benjamin "Benny" Pollack, Erik Selvig, Jasper Sitwell, Claire Wise.)

Pairings: Happy/Pepper, Jane/Thor. Mentions of: Benny/Claire, Pepper/Tony

Summary: Iron Man never fell back through the portal. The Avengers must deal with the loss of their comrade and move on – until Earth once again comes under an attack from the Chitauri and their new-found weapons that decimate everything in their way (path) with unmatched power and intellect. As cities and nations collapse around their decreasing resistance, the heroes of Earth must find a way to defeat their enemy before there is nothing left to avenge.

Written for: Apocalypse Big Bang, Round One (apocalypsebang at LiveJournal)

Art: Imaan (insteadofdeath at dA/DW/LJ)

Warnings: Graphic description of torture, major character death, apocalypse & invasion themes (including but not limited to: mass destruction, terrorism, holocaust, death, violence and gore), brain-washing & mind-control, language (including some remarks that could be seen as racist). Serious spoilers for the ending of The Avengers (and other random spoilers for the rest of the movies in the Avengers cinematic universe).

Disclaimer: Iron Man and Avengers, their characters and everything else belong to Marvel. The movie versions belong to Marvel Studios, Joss Whedon, Jon Favreau, Louis Leterrier, Kenneth Branagh, Joe Johnston, Paramount Pictures, Universal Pictures, Walt Disney Pictures… in short: everyone but me. This is pure fiction, created to entertain likeminded fans, no profit made.

Beta: Mythra

Feedback: Appreciated, cherished and loved. Concrit welcome.

About Chitauri Apocalypse: The idea for this story was partially formed in response to the end of the battle in The Avengers movie, Falling Skies TV show, the fact that I loved the 1998 Godzilla film – plus I can't resist liking certain aspects of Neon Genesis Evangelion… (How are the last three involved in this story? You'll soon find out as you read on.)

The idea also conveniently matched the criteria for the Apocalypse Big Bang, so it got written way earlier than it otherwise may have been.

I'm a fan of apocalyptic/post-apocalyptic plots. I've written something along those lines in the Heroes fandom (especially my "Broken World" series), and putting superheroes like the Avengers through something like that is alluring because what do they do when they can't beat the enemy in one battle – or a dozen?

I would also like to confess right here and now that I'm no expert in biology OR nuclear power. I tried to hunt for some facts to back up my theories but mostly I'm just tossing fake!facts into the air and hoping they'll stick long enough to make the story believable.

Also, for those not familiar with the particular Marvel one-shot (seen on The Avengers Blu-ray), Benjamin "Benny" Pollack, Claire Wise and Agent Blake appear in "Item 47".

Chapters and statuses: Below you see the writing process of the story's chapters. If there is no text after the chapter's title, then it is finished and checked. Possible updates shall be marked after the title.

Chapter 1: End of the Beginning
Chapter 2: Genesis – Avengers
Chapter 3: Genesis – Stark Industries
Chapter 4: Genesis – S.H.I.E.L.D.
Chapter 5: Impending Attack
Chapter 6: Touchdown
Chapter 7: Assessments of Defeat
Chapter 8: Succor
Chapter 9: Rise and Fall
Chapter 10: Rescue
Chapter 11: The Return of J.A.R.V.I.S.
Chapter 12: Taste of Irony
Chapter 13: Questions
Chapter 14: Malibu
Chapter 15: Revelation
Chapter 16: Perfume
Chapter 17: Genesis – The Fall of Tony Stark
Chapter 18: Genesis – Creating the Armageddon
Chapter 19: Clash
Chapter 20: No Man Left Behind
Chapter 21: Capture
Chapter 22: Trickster
Chapter 23: Conviction
Chapter 24: Empty Grave
Chapter 25: Reluctance and Loss
Chapter 26: Trust
Chapter 27: Edwin
Chapter 28: The Weapon
Chapter 29: Iron Man Returns
Chapter 30: Epilogue