The Consulting Room
A place for fans of the original ACD canon and pastiches based on the stories. Please read the Rules before posting on this forum. Thank you.
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
« Prev Page 1 .. 2 3 4
Capt-Facepalm

Greetings and welcome, Noleme!

I'm sure you will find many things of interest here.

If you are looking for recommendations, you could look at the membership's profiles and see who we have selected as our Favourite Authors and Favourite Stories.

Even if you do not think yourself a writer, try The Character Game. It is a great exercise in imagination. You are given 3 objects and must describe the character who would have these items and why. This takes one or two paragraphs but feel free to go where your muse takes you. At the end, leave 3 items for the next person. You will find this group to be encouraging and constructive. Good luck!

Capt-Facepalm

9/16/2016 #91
tripleransom

Hi Noleme and welcome!

I envy you for being a complete newbie to the ACD fandom. There are so many wonderful fics out there waiting for you to discover! This is such a literary fandom, with many stories being very well-written.

I never thought of myself as a creative writer either, but somehow I found the courage to dip my toe into the waters here and realised that I could, indeed, write creatively and have fun doing it as well.

If you would like to message me, I can probably point you to whatever kind of fics you are looking for. Whatever they are, I imagine you can find them here.

Trip

9/18/2016 #92
Noleme

Thank you for the welcome, everyone! Capt. Facepalm, I read through the Character Game thread with great interest, but don't think I'd be any good at it: I have very little knowledge about life in the UK (or, er, anywhere else really) in those days. %)

And Tripleransom, thank you for the offer; dropping you a PM.

9/20/2016 #93
Cuthalion97