Writers Anonymous
Writers, come in. Talk about your stories, problems, any advice you need, critique, etc. You don't have to be good, you just need to want to write! Fanfic or original fic writers, all are welcome. Read the rules before posting or risk Rhea's displeasure.
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
Irkala

So, I've reached a bit of an odd conundrum and I'm wondering if perhaps anyone could help me out.

It's essentially a battle of completely artificial simulation versus simulated reality.

Uh--so when writing a story, I often come across a strange moment where I try to really envision what exactly is going on inside the character's head in the middle of an intense or huge event. Now a lot of my stories or most of them really, are really internally based. I try to give a lot of thought from the inner mind of the character, mainly why there's a lot of existentialist aspects and philosophical problems that those who I write about have to face. Since I'm just a beginner I'm not the best at it yet.

The problem I come across is a problem of:

--How would this character or someone like them act according to their personality in the game game/show etc

versus

--How would this character or someone like them act in reality? Without biases or plot ties?

I know it sounds kind of ridiculous to question that but, it bugs me because sometimes, I genuinely can't decide. A lot of my stories have a horror element to them, or contain some sort of tragedy. That being said, there's a lot of tense and difficult moments I make the characters face. In those moments I have the hardest times REALLY trying to get out how they would truly, truly react.