The Reviews Lounge, Too
A forum for The Reviews Lounge, Too community, which spotlights the excellent stories in our archives and promotes reviewing all stories without the promise of getting a review in return. Don't forget to read the rules and introduce yourself first!
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
« Prev Page 1 2 3 4 5 12 .. Last Next »

I also love this thread and agree with much that was already posted.

I worked as a tutor in college, reviewing essays, and we were taught the sandwich method. I try to apply it here, but sometimes it's very hard to find something to praise. I tried doing the Review Game on the WA forum but couldn't make it through most of the fics, so I wouldn't put my name in. For several of them, SPAG was just the start of the problem. I finally found something and put a placeholder without listing my story, but that didn't stop someone from reviewing, rather poorly, the one that didn't need reviews. So I wrote my review, posted a link to the story I did want reviewed, and stopped playing.

The thing that irritates me about SPAG reviews is that fiction often breaks grammar rules. It's okay to have fragments and run-ons. It's okay to use the objective pronoun instead of the subjective. Because that's how people talk, to others and to themselves. I'm quite aware of the rules that I'm breaking, and I think it's pretty obvious in my style of writing that these are choices, not mistakes.

I think a good writer can write a good story that readers can appreciate, regardless of the fandom. For example, BitterKitten's SOTW Contrition was excellently written (and I admit to resorting to SPAG in my concrit because I didn't find much I didn't like about it), and I was able to enjoy it despite the fact that it had been years since I'd seen the movie and couldn't recall the scene at all. I actually don't think I've seen the movie in its entirety.

What I look for is what I strive to put into my own stories: