Critics United
Critics United: a place for reviewers to gather and talk, exchange tales and support each other as we all try and help the authors of the site.
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
Page 1 2 Next »
Cha's Aegis

Look! A spiffy new thread!

This isn't going to be a discussion thread. It's purpose is for announcements that mostly affect our CU members, and sometimes our visitors, that we don't want to get lost in the chat. I know not everyone checks the home page of this site for the latest updates, for example, so if something relevant comes up that you all should know about it'll get posted here by the mods. Otherwise, the thread is locked the rest of the time until the next announcement.

7/11/2011 . Edited by Spirit of Paladin, 1/17/2017 #1
Cha's Aegis

As most of our members and visitors know CU has been dealing with what we dubbed a stalker troll for months. Actually, calling them a 'troll' is a misnomer. I'm no expert on trolls, but I've spoken with quite a few to get a pretty good idea on how they work. A 'troll' is mostly interested in the lulz. They like seeing people react and get mad to their antics. Usually what they post isn't an accurate depiction of their personal beliefs, they are merely posting what they think is likely to piss people off the most. If they aren't getting the reactions they want or are merely tired of their current 'project,' they move on to something else. With most trolls, it's not about any sort of vendetta or quest for revenge. They troll for their own entertainment.

This is why CU adopted the policy of not going after trolls or 'feeding' them. Even if one account is removed, they'll come back with another. It's a waste of our energies.