Tips, Tricks, and Do's and Don'ts
Every writer may need help from time to time, whether its trying to conquer writer's block or creating realistic OCs. This Forum will have some tips, tricks, and some of the Do's and Don'ts centered around writing fanfiction.
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
BlueKatSally128

Hello! I am quite new to fanfiction and I've been researching information and how to keep characters from being mary suey and other things. I have one problem I don't know how to start my story. I've already jotted down quick personalities and looks for my main characters (leaving plenty of room for development) but I am not quite sure how to write a good summary or how to hook the reader in the first chapter.

7/23/2015 #1
maychewn

I"m sure you will get way batter answer's then me, but I"m here right now so I try to answer you. as long you know what mary su is - character that too much perfect without any flew at all. you be okay. balance is the key here, and try to keep her as realistic as you can be. as for summery, try to say in a few words the start of the plot, and where it start, the time it start. on what it will be, in short words of course.

in one hand, say on what the story would be about. but on the other hand, try not to say too much or spoiler the reader. I don't really sure about summery myself. but when I search for a story, I want to know on who it will be about and a little bit on what. what am I getting myself into XD I hope it help. good luck!

7/23/2015 . Edited 7/23/2015 #2
BlueKatSally128

Okay thanks! I'll try to go from there!

7/23/2015 #3
VividViridian

Hey there!

I hardly consider myself an expert on these issues (I still find myself struggling over them all the time), but here's what little help I have to offer: